Where is God in All This?

 

 

hospital-bed2

(photo credit)

During a recent, unanticipated, lengthy holiday stay in the hospital, my very brave husband was a complete trooper.  Seriously, he surely has somehow earned the Good Patient Award for the month of December.  I, on the other hand, won the Loud-Talking-Don’t-Make-Her-Mad-Get-It-Done-Or-Else Award, I’m afraid.  But between the two of us, we managed to make sure he was well taken care of and (hopefully) maintain our testimony at the same time.

 Near the end of this stay, as he really started to grow weary, my husband started sharing his concerns with me, which included (*gasp*), “I hate to say it, but I’m wondering, where is God in all this?”  Now, I must tell you, he actually seemed to feel kind of guilty for even asking such a question.  Forget, that Job and David and even Jesus dared to have such thoughts! 

Somehow we had been programmed through our upbringing or teaching, that the God of the Universe was going to smack our hands (or worse) for even asking such a question.  But far from a reprimand, what we got was incredible reassurance.  It was almost as if the moment we posed the question to God, He responded, “I’m so glad you asked.  Now, I think I will show you.”  After that, we proceeded to have numerous, unsolicited blessings and reassurances that came our way, many times through sources that we didn’t expect. 

A group of amazing homeschool mothers in our area rallied to provide us meals and prayers and comfort as soon as we returned home.  A friend who is such a carrier of the peace of God showed up, just as my husband came around a corner, anxious and really feeling like he needed comfort.  I could go on and on.  Encouragement came from so many unexpected sources–we just paused and said to each other, “Look at God.”

In addition to asking, “Where is God?” we did one more thing.  We remembered the character of God in the midst of our challenge.  Late one night, as I wearily emailed an update to some friends, I found myself reflecting on the reason for the season.  One of those friends put that part of my email in her blog–which I’ll let you click here to read.  

The point being, first we remembered the character of God, as we know Him through the Holy Spirit and His Word.  Then we placed our doubts, concerns, and needs in the lap of the Father.  And then (why am I still always amazed when God comes through?), God answered us with encouragement beyond our expectations.

Where is God in all this?  In every nook and cranny we surrender to Him.  Everywhere we allow Him to be.

1 Response to “Where is God in All This?”


  1. 1 DOTK January 7, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    amen. sister. amen.

    miss you.


Leave a Reply

